Saguache County Commissioners Left: Liza Marron Center: Tom McCracken Right: Lynne Thompson

Saguache County Commissioners

Liza Marron, Tom McCracken and Lynne Thompson

The county is an administrative unit of the Colorado state government wherein the commissioners work with the various state agencies and the Governor's office. Since the state statutes define the scope and limit of county authority, the commissioners suggest, support, and oppose legislation depending on the needs and interests of Saguache County.

The commissioners are directly responsible for the following departments: Road & Bridge, Social Services, Public Health, Land Use, and General Administration. The Elected officials (Sheriff, Assessor, Treasurer, County Clerk and Coroner) are responsible for their departments, however, the commissioners have authority over their budgets.

The commissioners also have final authority on all land use and land planning concerns, utilizing the recommendations of the planning commission. They also appoint citizens to various boards, committees and councils to advise in the running of the county

The commissioners are available to work with Saguache County residents on decisions that affect their lifestyle, livelihood or finances. At other times of the year, especially during the annual budget preparation, the commissioners will schedule additional meetings to meet the needs of the business at hand. The commissioners are open to phone calls, visits and letters from concerned residents of Saguache County.

Reginal 1041 Resolution Public Hearing Notice

The Board of County Commissioners will hold a Public Hearing at the Saguache County Commissioners meeting Room located at 501 – 4th Street, Saguache, Colorado, on the following date:

TUESDAY, JUNE 6, 2023 at 1:00 PM

to consider proposed “Resolution Designating Site Selection and Construction of Major New Domestic Water Systems and Major Extensions of Existing Domestic Water Systems and Municipal and Industrial Water Projects as Activities of State Interest”.

To view the proposed resolution Thursday, May 4, 2023, you may contact the Saguache County Land Use Department – PO Box 326, Saguache, CO 81149 or, or by calling 719-655-2321 or you may also view the changes on our website at .

Written comments will be accepted until Friday, JUNE 2, 2023 at 3pm, and may be sent to Saguache County Land Use Department at PO Box 326, Saguache, CO 81149 or email to

By: Tom McCracken, Chairman

Saguache County Board of Commissioners

1041 COG Resolution    

Saguache County GORP letter to Senator Bennet

Please click here to view the Saguache County GORP letter to Senator Bennet.

Division of Water Resources Correspondence

Please click here to view the Division of Water Resources Correspondence.

Contact the Saguache County Commissioners

Liza Marron  


Phone: (719)-937-8423

Lynne Thompson 


Phone: (719)-221-1881

Tom McCracken (Chair) 


Phone: (719)-221-1822