SAGUACHE COUNTY CONSTRUCTION PERMIT INFORMATION

The fee are as follows:

0 to 500 square feet is $60.00

501 to 3000 square feet is $0.11/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee

3001 sq. ft. to 6000 sq. ft. is $0.10/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee

6001 sq. ft. to 10,000 sq. ft. is $0.09/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee

Any construction permit that is built over 10,000 sq. ft. and above will be $0.08/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee

Accuracy of square footage is important. Square footage will be reviewed by the Saguache County
Assessor’s office at the time of appraisal. Any structures with square footage over 25% of that permitted
will be billed for the excess amount owed plus penalty. To avoid penalty if your plans change to include
a larger structure after your permit is issued, contact the Land Use office to modify your permit.
Beginning construction or moving a structure on to property without first purchasing a permit will have an
administrative fine of double the amount of your permit added to your permit fee. Any application that is
incomplete will be returned to the landowner.

A sketch plan showing all improvements already existing on property and any new structures to be
constructed, showing footage from all side of parcel must be attached to your permit.

The State of Colorado and the County of Saguache have certain requirements which must be met when
constructing buildings intended for human occupancy. The purpose of these requirements is to protect
the health, safety and welfare of the occupants and any person who might enter these structures.

Any dwelling in the State of Colorado must be serviced with an adequate sewage disposal system. This
may take the form of a central sewage system or an Onsite Waste Water Treatment System (OWWTS).
These systems must be permitted and inspected by the County prior to any occupancy.

At the completion of construction, applicant must supply Saguache County Land Use office with copies
of approved State plumbing, gas, and electric permits, if required. Permits will remain incomplete until
these copies are supplied.

There shall be a minimum setback of ten (10) feet from all property lines except where a public road
easement exists, and then there shall be a minimum of twenty-five (25) feet from the edge of said

easement.

Wells may only be drilled by State Licensed Contractors. Permits are obtained through the Colorado
Division of Water Resources (719-589-6683).

In Saguache County any manufactured housing brought into or relocated within the County must meet
requirements of the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Act of 1974, 42 USC
Section 5401, et, seq., (commonly known as the HUD act.) or an equivalent code. Any structure older
than 20 years must first be given County approval before it can be placed on any property or brought
into Saguache County.

Please contact the Saguache County Road and Bridge for a drive way access permit at 719-655-2554. A
drive way access permit must be applied for and approved before submitting Land Use applications.

A County physical address application must be submitted with a Construction Permit
application. A Septic Permit application will also be required, if constructing a residence.



San Luis Valley Regional
Habitat Conservation Plan

What is a Habitat Conservation Plan?

The San Luis Valley contains riparian habitat that is home to two federally protected bird species: southwestern willow
flycatcher and yellow-billed cuckoo. Impacts to the birds or their habitat are subject to regulation under the Endangered
Species Act (ESA) and other federal laws. A Habitat Conservation Plan (HCP) is a community-based plan designed to
conserve endangered species habitat while allowing private land use and management to continue. With a complete HCP,
landowners and units of government receive an Incidental Take Permit authorizing specified activities to continue without
the threat of additional ESA regulation.

Why is Saguache County a participant in the HCP?

Working landscapes and river corridors in Saguache County are home to both the flycatcher and cuckoo. Saguache
County chose to participate in the HCP in an effort to protect landowners from the threat of ESA regulations. With a
completed HCP, Saguache County received an Incidental Take Permit which provides regulatory protection to the county
and individual landowners as they conduct routine agriculture, small infrastructure, and riparian conservation and
restoration activities on their land.

Who is involved in this HCP?

The San Luis Valley Regional HCP was completed in November 2012. Saguache County joined the HCP as a partner
with the State of Colorado, the Rio Grande Water Conservation District (RGWCD) and neighboring Counties; Alamosa,
Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache and other local municipalities. The HCP boundary includes nearly 2.9
million acres of the San Luis Valley, with over 15,000 acres of riparian habitat.

How does this HCP affect me?
The HCP allows you to continue ongoing routine agricultural activities, community infrastructure and riparian
conservation and restoration activities. Activities covered by the HCP include:

Routine Agriculture Community Infrastructure Riparian Consery ager
and Restoration

e Grazing e Vegetation removal from floodway e Channel shaping and stabilization
e Fence construction and maintenance e Levee construction and maintenance e Habitat creation and restoration
e Ditch clearing and maintenance e Sediment removal * Weed management
o Water facility maintenance e Infrastructure construction e Wetland creation and management
e New water facility construction ¢ Infrastructure maintenance o Wildlife surveys
e Water management and administration e Road and bridge maintenance

The HCP does not cover land development, permanent impacts >0.5 acres, or activities with a federal nexus. If you are
conducting activities within riparian areas that are not covered under the scope of the HCP, you may still be subject to
ESA regulations.

What do I have to do?
Get informed! Landowners are responsible for all activities conducted on their property. Know what activities are
protected under the scope of the HCP and what activities may require additional authorization.

Participate! Do what you can to voluntarily limit impacts to riparian habitat, especially during the breeding season from
May-August. Contact the Land Use Office or the RGWCD if you may be interest in part1c1pat1ng in add1t10na1 voluntary
conservation programs that protect habitat and allow the HCP to function. -

Where do I get more information?

» Details of the HCP are available online at www.rgwed.org’hep
» Saguache County Land Use Office: 719-655-2321
» Rio Grande Water Conservation District: 719-589-6301




PERMIT NUMBER
PARCEL NUMBER
DATE PERMIT APPROVED / /

SAGUACHE COUNTY LAND USE OFFICE CONSTRUCTION PERMIT APPLICATION
PO Box 326
Saguache, CO 81149
719-655-2321

The Saguache County Board of Commissioners adopted Article Xlll of the Saguache
County Land Use Development Code March 6, 1997. This article requires that any structure
must be permitted by the County (this also includes manufactured housing). The applicant is
responsible for all other permits required under Colorado State Law. Beginning construction or
moving a structure on to property without first purchasing a permit will have an administrative
fine double the amount of Construction Permit added to your permit fee. Violation of this
ordinance can and will constitute a penalty of not more than $600.00. FEE -

0 to 500 square feet is $60.00
501 to 3000 square feet is $0.11/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee
3001 sq. ft. to 6000 sq. ft. is $0.10/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee

6001 sq. ft. to 10,000 sq. ft. is $0.09/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee
Any construction permit that is built over 10,000 sq. ft. and above will be $0.08/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee

TYPE OF CONSTRUCTION:
NEW RESIDENTIAL MOBILE/MODULAR
ACCESSORY EXPANSION
LANDOWNER PHONE

APPLICANT (if different from Landowner)
PHONE NUMBER

MAILING ADDRESS OF OWNER/APPLICANT

LEGAL DESCRIPTION OF LAND (application incomplete if blank)

PHYSICAL ADDRESS (building site) CITY

TOTAL ACREAGE AMOUNT OF PARCEL TO BE BUILT ON

TOTAL AMOUNT OF STRUCTURES EXISTING ON PROPERTY

TOTAL AMOUNT OF RESIDENCES EXISTING ON PROPERTY




APPROXIMATE START DATE APPROXIMATE END DATE

ESTIMATED COST OF PROJECT $

CONSTRUCTION TYPE

Residence: sq. ft. Mobile/Modular sq. ft.
Addition sq. ft. Accessory sq. ft.

SEWAGE DISPOSAL SYSTEM PERMIT # AND YEAR ISSUED

WELL PERMIT #

APPROXIMATE START DATE / /
APPROXIMATE END DATE / /
R-Values Material Used Interior
Floor Floor Amt. of Bedrooms
Walls Walls Amt. Of Bathrooms
Ceiling Roof
Heating Type Bldg. Height
If your construction is - MANUFACTURED HOUSING/MOBILE HOME TYPE
INFORMATION
The following is required.
YEAR MAKE VIN #
HUD CO. DOH CERTIFICATE #

ACCURACY OF SQUARE FOOTAGE IS IMPORTANT. SQUARE FOOTAGE WILL BE REVIEWED BY
THE SAGUACHE COUNTY ASSESSOR'’S OFFICE AT THE TIME OF APPRAISAL, ANY STRUCTURES
WITH SQUARE FOOTAGE OVER 25% OF THAT PERMITTED WILL BE BILLED FOR THE EXCESS

AMOUNT OWNED PLUS PENALTY.

A sketch plan showing all improvements already existing on property and any new
structures to be constructed, showing footage from all sides of the parcel must be

attached to your permit.



IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO CREATE A DRIVE WAY OFF OF ANY COUNTY ROAD
YOU MUST CONTACT THE SAGUACHE COUNTY ROAD AND BRIDGE DEPARTMENT

BEFORE INSTALLATION.

ALL CONSTRUCTION PERMITS ARE NOT FINAL UNTIL COPIES OF YOUR
APPROVED COLORADO STATE PLUMBING & GAS PERMIT AND COLORADO STATE
ELECTRICAL PERMITS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED iN THIS OFFICE.

APPLICANTS NEED TO BE AWARE THAT BY SIGNING THIS APPLICATION YOU ARE
GRANTING THE SAGUACHE COUNTY LAND USE OFFICE STAFF PERMISSION TO
ACCESS YOUR PROPERTY FOR PURPOSES RELATING TO THIS APPLICATION.

ALL PERMIT FEES PAID ARE NON-FUNDABLE

OWNER/APPLICANT

DATE

APPLICATION RECEIVED BY DATE

The State of Colorado and the County of Saguache have certain requirements which
must be met when constructing buildings intended for human occupancy. The
purpose of these requirements is to protect the health, safety and welfare of the
occupants and any person who might enter these structures.



In addition, certain structures may require different types of inspections. Listed below are phone
numbers that may be of assistance:

Saguache County Road and Bridge (driveway access permit information) 719-655-2554

Saguache County Land Use - Sewage Disposal Permits 719-655-2321
Saguache County Assessor 719-655-2521
State of Colorado Electrical Permits John Hindes 303-869-3450
State of Colorado Plumbing & Gas Permits Andy Medina 303-869-3469
andy.medina@state.co.us
State of Colorado Division of Water Resources San Luis Valley 719-589-6683
Gunnison Area 970-249-6622
State of Colorado Division of Housing 303-866-2033

State of Colorado Manufactured Housing Association 303-832-2022



Saguache County Land Development Code
effective April 19, 2022

ARTICLE XIII
CONSTRUCTION PERMIT

XII11.1. General Provisions

The Board of County Commissioners recognizes the need to protect the public while
maintaining an environment that encourages the development of diverse structure styles
and methods. It is also understood that it is in the best interest of the county as a whole to
preserve a diverse economic structure in which all residents can obtain suitable housing.

XIII.2. Purpose

These regulations are designed and enacted for the purpose of protecting the health,
safety and welfare of present and future inhabitants of Saguache County, Colorado, by
ensuring that all new structures and dwellings conform to current State electrical,
plumbing, gas and sewage regulations.

XIIL3. Authority

The authority to establish the following regulations is provided for, without exclusion, in
Article 20 of Title 29 C.R.S., Local Government Land Use Control Enabling Act, and
Article 28 of Title 30 C.R.S., County Planning and Building Codes.

XTI14. Application Information and requirements

This article shall apply to ALL structures or dwellings constructed within the
unincorporated areas within Saguache County. It shall also apply to all types of
manufactured housing, including mobile homes, brought into the County from other
counties or states, or relocated within the County after the date of its adoption.

In addition, this article applies to barns, storage facilities, greenhouses or other structures,
which are NOT intended for human occupancy.

XIIL.4.1.  All structures being used for storage must be painted an earth tone and all
advertising must be either painted over or removed.

XII1.4.2. Construction permits expire two (2) years from the date of issue. If
construction is not completed within the two-year time limit you may request
one (1) extension for a six (6) month period. Any extension must be
presented to the Board of County Commissioners for approval. Pictures must
be supplied for extension to show progress.

XIIL.4.3. 'Recreational vehicles (RV’s, campers etc.) may only be occupied a maximum

total of sixty (60) days during construction process. Recreational Vehicles
(RV’s, campers etc.) may not be used as a permanent residence.

Article XIII - 1



XI11.4.4.

XIII1.4.5.

XIII1.4.6.

XII1.4.7.

XIII.4.8.

XII1.4.9.

XI11.4.10.

XII1.4.11.

XII1.4.12.

XIIL.4.13.

Saguache County Land Development Code
effective April 19, 2022

Any person seeking to engage in development in any designated wildlife
habitat shall apply for a permit from the Saguache County Land Use office on
the appropriate form as prescribed by these Regulations and maintained in the
office of the Saguache County Land Use Administrator.

The Saguache County Land Use office staff may inspect any parcel of land for
which a Land Use Application has been received, and a staff member may
make a recommendation to mitigate any issues that arise from the inspection.
There shall be a fee charged to the landowner/applicant for the Land Use

Application, and this inspection, on any property located within a designated
wildlife habitat area as determined by maps supplied by the Colorado Parks
and Wildlife. There shall be a fee charged to the landowner/applicant for this
application and inspection on any property located within a designated
wildlife habitat area, as determined by maps supplied by the Colorado Parks
and Wildlife.

Applications for permits shall include the following:
A non-refundable application fee to cover the cost of processing.

Proof of ownership of the land on which the structure is to be located, or a
letter from the owner acknowledging their approval of the structure's
placement.

A sewage disposal system must be applied for, installed and inspected in
accordance with approval by the appropriate government agency and finalized
with the Saguache County Land Use Office before beginning construction for
a residence or business. Composting toilets shall not be allowed for
commercial purposes.

A copy of water well permit, water court decree or other agreement providing
for water service, if required.

A construction and/or septic application must be submitted together with a
physical address application from the Saguache County Land Use office. The
physical address shall be approved prior to any permits being granted or
construction activity commence. A County Road Access Permit may also be
required from the Saguache County Road and Bridge Department.

Waste products from any construction shall be disposed of property so as not

to cause risk for consumption by others or as not to attract rodents, pests and
public curiosity.

Article XIII - 2



Saguache County Land Development Code
effective April 19, 2022

XII1.4.14. There shall be a minimum square footage of 150 square feet for a residence
and for every additional person, 100 square feet must be added to the square
footage for a residence.

XIII.4.15. Accessory structures are not permitted on vacant parcels unless an active
construction permit for a residence has been applied for and purchased. i.e.
garages, storage sheds, shipping container, outbuildings, studio and carports. A
greenhouse and/or hoop house shall not be applied for or permitted on a vacant
parcel of land and must have a completed residence.

XII1.4.15.1. Agricultural structures being used strictly for agricultural use may be
exempt.

XIIL.4.16. At the completion of construction, applicant must supply Saguache County
Land Use office with copies of approved State plumbing, gas and electric
permits, if required. Permits will remain incomplete until these copies are
supplied.

It is encouraged that all electrical utility lines be placed underground.

XIIL.4.17. A sketch plan showing all improvements already existing on property and new
structures to be constructed, showing footage from all sides of parcel. Also,
sketch plan must show all access roads used to access parcel to be built on.

XII1.4.18. There shall be a minimum setback of ten (10) feet from all property lines
except where a public road easement exists, and then there shall be a
minimum of twenty-five (25) feet from the edge of said easement.

XIII.4.18.1. Setback shall be determined by the foot print of the structure.

This will also include any subdivision lots that are in existence as of
the date of this regulation.

XI11.4.19. Outdoor lighting is to be directed downward and shielded. High or low-
pressure sodium bulbs may be a maximum of 100 watts. Mercury vapor
lamps are prohibited. Mast mounted lights must be kept to a minimum
number and a maximum height of twenty-two (22) feet.

* No internally lit outside signs are permitted within the County except
CDOT (Colorado Department of Transportation) approved Highway
signs.

» Any light used for illumination of signs shall be shielded so that the
beams or rays of light will not shine directly onto the surrounding areas
OR onto surrounding residences.

Article XIII - 3



Saguache County Land Development Code
effective April 19, 2022

= Neither the direct nor the reflected light from any light source shall create
a traffic hazard or distraction to operators of motor vehicles on public
thoroughfares.

XIII1.4.20. If electrical service has been abandoned for (1) year or more all-outdoor
lighting must conform to State Electrical Standards.

XII1.4.21. In addition, any person intending to place a "Mobile Home" within the County
shall show proof of the following with the application for a Mobile Home
permit.

XII1.4.21.1. A copy of the manufactured home tax certification indicating
ownership and point of origin. A certificate of VIN registration that
shows the year and make shall also be included.

X1I1.4.21.2. A photograph of the structure as a whole and a legible photograph of
the HUD sticker and/or other suitable documentation indicating
compliance with the National Manufactured Housing Construction
and Safety Act of 1974, 42 U.S.C. Section 5401, et. seq., as
amended, (commonly known as the HUD Act, effective June, 1976).
No mobile home shall be transported into or maintained within
Saguache County, which does not comply with state standards as
promulgated by the Division of Housing. Mobile home must meet
1976 HUD Standards.

XIIL.4.21.3. Any structure older than twenty (20) years and larger than two
hundred (200) square foot may not be transported into Saguache
County. Any structure legally in place in Saguache County at the
time this regulation is adopted may remain in its current position
indefinitely. If the structure is moved, it must be moved out of the
unincorporated Saguache County.

If structure is not twenty (20) years old this regulation does not apply. If the structure is
not larger than two hundred (200) square foot this regulation does not apply.

XII1.4.21.3.1. Before any structure older than twenty (20) years may be moved
in the Saguache County, the County must approve a Variance
application and a Building Permit application. See Article VIII
of the Saguache County Land Development Code for Variance
regulation.

XII1.4.21.3.2. Variance application must include a photograph of the structure
as a whole and a legible photograph of the HUD sticker and/or
other suitable documentation indicating compliance with the
National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Act of
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Saguache County Land Development Code
effective April 19, 2022

1974, 42 U.S.C. Section 5401, et. seg., as amended (commonly
known as the HUD Act, effective, June, 1976).

XII1.4.21.4. Adequate sewage, existing and ready to connect into before any
mobile home can be occupied on property.

XII1.4.21.5. A copy of well permit, water court decree or other agreement
providing for water service.

XII1.4.21.6. In addition, mobile home shall be placed on permanent foundation or
tied and anchored down.

XIIL.4.21.7. In addition, skirting, must be attached within 45 days of placement
of mobile home.

XII1.4.21.8. No reflective surfaces except glass may be used.

XII1.4.21.9. Any Recreational Vehicle or Vehicle to be used as a permanent
residence shall follow all mobile home regulations.

It is encouraged that all skirting coordinate with the mobile home in color. All exterior
colors are encouraged to be muted earth tones, which blend with the immediate
environment.

It is encouraged that no tires or cement blocks be placed on roof of mobile home.
XIILS. Mobile Home for Storage within the County

XIIL5.1.  All plumbing fixtures will be removed, and the Land Use Administrator or
designated agent will inspect said structure to ensure all fixtures are removed.

XIII.5.2.  All Mobile Homes for storage must have the electrical wiring brought up to
HUD standards and a copy of the inspection attached to the building permit,
or if the mobile home will not have electricity all the electrical wiring will be
removed, and the Land Use Administrator or designated agent will inspect
said structure to ensure all wiring is removed.

XIII.5.3.  All Mobile Homes for storage must be placed on a permanent foundation,
such as a concrete slab or stem wall.

XIII.6. Permitting
Before beginning the construction for any structure, and before moving a manufactured

housing unit onto any property located in Saguache County, the Land Use Office must
issue a permit.
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Saguache County Land Development Code
effective April 19, 2022

XIIL.6.1. Permits

Permits will be processed upon the receipt of a completed permit application along with
the required fee. Incomplete applications will not be accepted for processing.

XI11.6.2. Posting

A copy of the permit shall be posted on the front of the structure, or upon a post or board
in a location visible from the road.

Article XIII - 6



